Dina Nayeri

Who Gets Believed?: When the Truth Isn't Enough -- Dina Nayeri, Hardcover

$27.00 $18.99 Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Hardcover
"Dina Nayeri's powerful writing confronts issues that are key to the refugee experience."--Viet Thanh Nguyen

From the author of The Ungrateful Refugee--finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Kirkus Prize--Who Gets Believed? is a groundbreaking book about persuasion and performance that asks unsettling questions about lies, truths, and the difference between being believed and being dismissed in situations spanning asylum interviews, emergency rooms, consulting jobs, and family life

Why are honest asylum seekers dismissed as liars?

Former refugee and award-winning author Dina Nayeri begins with this question, turning to shocking and illuminating case studies in this book, which grows into a reckoning with our culture's views on believability. From persuading a doctor that she'd prefer a C-section to learning to "bullshit gracefully" at McKinsey to struggling, in her personal life, to believe her troubled brother-in-law, Nayeri explores an aspect of our society that is rarely held up to the light.

For readers of David Grann, Malcolm Gladwell, and Atul Gawande, Who Gets Believed? is a book as deeply personal as it is profound in its reflections on morals, language, human psychology, and the unspoken social codes that determine how we relate to one another.

Author: Dina Nayeri
Publisher: Catapult
Published: 03/07/2023
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.25lbs
Size: 9.06h x 6.06w x 1.18d
ISBN: 9781646220724

Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 10/01/2022 pg. 15
Kirkus Reviews 12/01/2022
Publishers Weekly 01/09/2023
Library Journal 02/01/2023 pg. 91

Product Tags:

Belief and doubt, Catapult, Dina Nayeri, Emigration & Immigration, Hardcover, Immigration, Political Science, Public Policy, Social Science, Social Theory, Sociology

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!