Marvin Gaye

What's Going On (50Th Anniversary), Marvin Gaye, LP

$39.98 $37.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
37 in stock, ready to ship

Product Tags:

2022 Best Selling Vinyl, BEST SELLER, CDs & Vinyl › Styles › R&B, Grammy Winning Artist, Marvin Gaye, Misc Product, Motown, R&B, Vinyl Store

Marvin Gaye What's Going On - 50th Anniversary 2LP Edition Remixes from Acclaimed Producer Salaam Remi What's Going On: 50th Anniversary 2LP Edition bonus LP opens up the album's writing and production palette. Featured are four rare cuts making their vinyl debut, highlighted by a previously unreleased "stripped" version of the title song, plus all six original mono single mixes and their B-sides, with all of those 7" versions on vinyl for the first time since their original releases. Among them are alternate versions of "God Is Love" and "Flying High (In The Friendly Sky)," the latter issued on 45 as "Sad T With two 180gm records, a tip-on heavy stock jacket, original gatefold with complete lyrics, this formidable release also includes printed sleeves with track details, a rare image from the cover sessions, and a brief essay honoring arranger David Van De Pitte. Highlighted is a main essay by acclaimed author and poet Hanif Abdurraqib who was just named one of the 25 recipients of the 2021 MacArthur "genius" grant. With a vulnerable depth and complexity, Marvin Gaye opened the door musically, culturally, and politically for countless musicians over the last five decades to address the injustices of our world. Sitting at the No. 1 spot on Rolling Stone's 2020 list of "The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time," What's Going On has proven its evergreen relevance and its legacy will continue to influence and shape the music of future generations. Motown Records - Marvin Gaye - What's Going On [50th Anniversary / 2LP]

  • Disc 1, Track: 1 - What's Going on
  • Disc 1, Track: 2 - What's Happening Brother
  • Disc 1, Track: 3 - Flyin' High (In the Friendly Sky)
  • Disc 1, Track: 4 - Save the Children
  • Disc 1, Track: 5 - God Is Love
  • Disc 1, Track: 6 - Mercy Mercy Me
  • Disc 2, Track: 1 - Right on
  • Disc 2, Track: 2 - Wholy Holy
  • Disc 2, Track: 3 - Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
  • Disc 3, Track: 1 - What's Going on Stripped Version
  • Disc 3, Track: 2 - What's Going on Mix 1/No Strings or Horns
  • Disc 3, Track: 3 - What's Going on Rhythm & Strings Instrumental Mix
  • Disc 3, Track: 4 - Symphony Demo Version
  • Disc 4, Track: 1 - What's Going on
  • Disc 4, Track: 2 - God Is Love
  • Disc 4, Track: 3 - Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
  • Disc 4, Track: 4 - Sad Tomorrows
  • Disc 4, Track: 5 - Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
  • Disc 4, Track: 6 - Wholy Holy

Everything else not Book related

Welcome to the Book & Mortar Multimedia Page :)

Find the makings of your own media room. The cave. The hideout. The escape.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!