Tore Skeie

The Wolf Age: The Vikings, the Anglo-Saxons and the Battle for the North Sea Empire -- Tore Skeie, Paperback

$19.95 $13.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Paperback
31 in stock, ready to ship
"Skeie's account of ruthless conflict, political intrigue, and diplomatic machinations reads like a real-life Game of Thrones--without the dragons. Medieval history buffs will be riveted." --Publishers Weekly

Thrilling history provides a new perspective on the Viking-Anglo Saxon conflicts and brings the bloody period vividly to life, perfect for fans of Dan Jones

The first major book on Vikings by a Scandinavian author to be published in English, The Wolf Age reframes the struggle for a North Sea empire and puts readers in the mindset of Vikings, providing new insight into their goals, values, and what they chose to live and die for.

Tore Skeie (Norway's Most Important Young Historian) takes readers on a thrilling journey through the bloody shared history of England and Scandinavia, and on across early medieval Europe, from the wild Norwegian fjords to the wealthy cities of Muslim Andalusia.

Warfare, plotting, backstabbing and bribery abound as Skeie skillfully weaves sagas and skaldic poetry with breathless dramatization as he entertainingly brings the world of the Vikings and Anglo-Saxons to vivid life.

In the eleventh century, the rulers of the lands surrounding the North Sea are all hungry for power. To get power they need soldiers, to get soldiers they need silver, and to get silver there is no better way than war and plunder.

This vicious cycle draws all the lands of the north into a brutal struggle for supremacy and survival that will shatter kingdoms and forge an empire...

Author: Tore Skeie
Publisher: Pushkin Press
Published: 11/08/2022
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.84lbs
Size: 7.81h x 5.14w x 0.99d
ISBN: 9781782278351

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 08/22/2022

Product Tags:

Civilization, Europe, History, History - General History, Medieval, Nordic Countries, Paperback, Pushkin Press, Tore Skeie

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!