The Marvellers by Clayton, Dhonielle
Dhonielle Clayton
Books

The Marvellers -- Dhonielle Clayton - Hardcover


New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton makes her middle-grade debut with a fantasy adventure set in a global magic school in the sky, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Soman Chainani, and Philip Pullman.

The Marvellers deserves the highest compliment I can give a book: I want to live in this world. --Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling-author

A marvelous gift of a novel! With fantastical twists at every turn, Clayton has created a world that readers won't want to leave." --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Hate U Give and Concrete Rose

"The Marvellers is a rich, enchanted melting pot of magic, thrills, and color . . . filled with heart, wit, and humor. A tantalizing introduction to an exhilarating fantasy universe." --Soman Chainani, New York Times-bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil series

Eleven-year-old Ella Durand is the first Conjuror to attend the Arcanum Training Institute, a magic school in the clouds where Marvellers from around the world practice their cultural arts, like brewing Indian spice elixirs and bartering with pesky Irish pixies.

Despite her excitement, Ella discovers that being the first isn't easy--some Marvellers mistrust her magic, which they deem "bad and unnatural." But eventually, she finds friends in elixirs teacher, Masterji Thakur, and fellow misfits Brigit, a girl who hates magic, and Jason, a boy with a fondness for magical creatures.

When a dangerous criminal known as the Ace of Anarchy escapes prison, supposedly with a Conjuror's aid, tensions grow in the Marvellian world and Ella becomes the target of suspicion. Worse, Masterji Thakur mysteriously disappears while away on a research trip. With the help of her friends and her own growing powers, Ella must find a way to clear her family's name and track down her mentor before it's too late.

Author: Dhonielle Clayton
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Published: 05/03/2022
Pages: 416
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.40d
ISBN: 9781250174949
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Booklist 02/15/2022 pg. 63
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 04/04/2022
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2022
Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2022 pg. 141

About the Author

Dhonielle Clayton spent most of her childhood under her grandmother's table with a stack of books. She hails from the Washington, D.C. suburbs on the Maryland side. She is the author of the Tiny Pretty Things series (recently adapted by Netflix) and The Belles series. She earned an MA in Children's Literature from Hollins University and an MFA in Writing for Children at the New School. Now, she is a librarian at Harlem Village Academies, is one of the #WeNeedDiverseBooks librarians, and co-founder of CAKE Literary. The Marvellers is her debut middle grade novel.
dhonielleclayton.com

Book & Mortar

Chainsaw Man

It's So Great Having An Addiction
Shop Now

PINK FLOYD

Buy 4, get 1 Free
Shop now