The Civil War of Amos Abernathy by Leali, Michael
The Civil War of Amos Abernathy -- Michael Leali - Hardcover
Michael Leali
Books

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy -- Michael Leali - Hardcover


A heartfelt debut novel about a boy's attempt to find himself in the history he loves--perfect for fans of Dear Sweet Pea and From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

Amos Abernathy lives for history. Literally. He's been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there's something missing from history: someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he'd lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal--and hatches a plan to share Albert's story with his divided twenty-first century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it's one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and LGBTQ+ community will delight readers of Ashley Herring Blake, Alex Gino, or Maulik Pancholy.



Author: Michael Leali
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 06/07/2022
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.86lbs
Size: 8.48h x 5.78w x 0.98d
ISBN: 9780063119864
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/01/2022
Booklist 04/01/2022 pg. 57
School Library Journal 06/01/2022 pg. 72