The Bookshop of Second Chances by Fraser, Jackie
The Bookshop of Second Chances -- Jackie Fraser - Paperback
Jackie Fraser
Books

The Bookshop of Second Chances -- Jackie Fraser - Paperback


A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly aloof bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

"Humor and charm abound. . . . [This] love story hits the spot."--Publishers Weekly

Thea Mottram is having a bad month. She's been let go from her office job with no notice--and to make matters even worse, her husband of nearly twenty years has decided to leave her for one of her friends. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn't know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away, leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection, she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs.

Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and lovely but neglected garden. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can't seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle's book collection. His gruff attitude--fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local lord--tests Thea's patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn't experienced in a long time. As she follows a thrilling yet terrifying impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from.

Author: Jackie Fraser
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Published: 05/04/2021
Pages: 448
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.70lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.20w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9780593355657

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 02/22/2021

About the Author
Jackie Fraser is a freelance editor and writer. She's worked for AA Publishing, Watkins, the Good Food Guide, and various self-published writers of fiction, travel and food guides, and self-help books. She reads a lot (no, really), in multiple genres, and is fascinated by the Bronze Age. She likes vintage clothes, antique fairs, and photography. She likes cats.

Book & Mortar

Chainsaw Man

It's So Great Having An Addiction
Shop Now

PINK FLOYD

Buy 4, get 1 Free
Shop now