Joanna Margaret

The Bequest: A Dark Academia Thriller -- Joanna Margaret, Hardcover

$26.95 $18.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Hardcover
46 in stock, ready to ship

Fleeing a disastrous affair with a colleague in Boston, Isabel Henley moves to Scotland to begin a PhD with a renowned feminist professor--only to learn, upon arrival, that her advisor has suffered a deadly fall. Soon after, Isabel is informed that another scholar at the university is about to publish a book on her dissertation topic, leaving her disconcerted and in search of a new subject, all while struggling to acclimate to her new home abroad.

Isabel needs a good friend during such a rocky start, and finds one when she reconnects with Rose Brewster, her charismatic classmate from undergrad. But when Rose confides to Isabel that she is in trouble, and then goes missing, Isabel's already-unsteady life is sent into a tailspin. A suicide note surfaces, followed by a coded message: Rose is alive but, unless Isabel can complete the research begun before her friend's disappearance, both women will be killed by her captors.

As Isabel follows the Rose's paper trail from Genoa to Florence and, finally, to Paris, she uncovers family secrets, the legend of an enormous cursed emerald, and a chain of betrayal and treason which parallels her own perilous present. If she can put the pieces together soon, she could solve a 400-year-old mystery--and save her and her friend's lives in the process.

Combining epistolary elements, Gothic suspense, and an atmospheric "dark academia" setting, The Bequest is a gripping literary thriller that will appeal to fans of Alex Michaelides' The Maidens and Donna Tartt's The Secret History.



Author: Joanna Margaret
Publisher: Scarlet
Published: 10/18/2022
Pages: 312
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.66lbs
Size: 9.16h x 6.48w x 1.46d
ISBN: 9781613163443

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 08/29/2022
Kirkus Reviews 10/01/2022

Product Tags:

Fiction, Fiction - Espionage / Thriller, Hardcover, Joanna Margaret, Mystery & Detective, Scarlet, Scotland, Suspense, Thrillers, Women Sleuths

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!