Janice Hallett

The Appeal -- Janice Hallett, Paperback

$18.99 $13.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Paperback
677 in stock, ready to ship
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"[W]itty, original...a delight." --Th​e New York Times

Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and "dazzlingly clever" (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child--but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.

The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play's star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.

But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment's efficacy--nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material--emails, messages, letters--with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered.

A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a "daring...clever, and funny" (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

Author: Janice Hallett
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: 11/01/2022
Pages: 448
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.75lbs
Size: 7.80h x 5.50w x 1.90d
ISBN: 9781982187460

Product Tags:

Atria Books, Crime, Fiction, Fiction - Espionage / Thriller, Janice Hallett, Mystery fiction, Paperback, Suspense, Thrillers

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!