Jackie Higgins

Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses -- Jackie Higgins, Paperback

$18.99 $13.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Paperback
332 in stock, ready to ship
Perfect for fans of The Soul of an Octopus and The Genius of Birds, this "revelatory book" (Sy Montgomery, New York Times bestselling author) explores how we process the world around us through the lens of the incredible sensory capabilities of thirteen animals, revealing that we are not limited to merely five senses.

There is a scientific revolution stirring in the field of human perception. Research has shown that the extraordinary sensory powers of our animal friends can help us better understand the same powers that lie dormant within us.

From the harlequin mantis shrimp with its ability to see a vast range of colors, to the bloodhound and its hundreds of millions of scent receptors; from the orb-weaving spider whose eyes recognize not only space but time, to the cheetah whose ears are responsible for its perfect agility, these astonishing animals hold the key to better understanding how we make sense of the world around us.

"An appealingly written, enlightening, and sometimes eerie journey into the extraordinary possibilities for the human senses" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Sentient will change the way you look at humanity.

Author: Jackie Higgins
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: 11/01/2022
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.70lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.60w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9781982156565

Product Tags:

Animals, Atria Books, Biology, Jackie Higgins, Life Sciences, Nature, Paperback, Science, Zoology

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!