Jennifer Givhan

River Woman, River Demon -- Jennifer Givhan, Hardcover

$28.99 $19.99 Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning Mexican-American and Indigenous author Jennifer Givhan brings us an exquisitely written, spell-binding psychological thriller--weaving together folk magick with personal and cultural empowerment--that is perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic.

When Eva's husband is arrested for the murder of a friend, she must confront her murky past and embrace her magick to find out what really happened that night on the river.

Eva Santos Moon is a burgeoning Chicana artist who practices the ancient, spiritual ways of brujería and curanderisma, but she's at one of her lowest points--suffering from disorienting blackouts, creative stagnation, and a feeling of disconnect from her magickal roots. When her husband, a beloved university professor and the glue that holds their family together, is taken into custody for the shocking murder of their friend, Eva doesn't know whom to trust--least of all, herself. She soon falls under suspicion as a potential suspect, and her past rises to the surface, dredging up the truth about an eerily similar death from her childhood.

Struggling with fragmented memories and self-doubt, an increasingly terrified Eva fears that she might have been involved in both murders. But why doesn't she remember? Only the dead women know for sure, and they're coming for her with a haunting vengeance. As she fights to keep her family out of danger, Eva realizes she must use her magick as a bruja to protect herself and her loved ones, while confronting her own dark history.

River Woman, River Demon is a mysterious incantation of reckoning with the past and claiming one's unique power and voice.



Author: Jennifer Givhan
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Published: 10/04/2022
Pages: 319
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.72lbs
Size: 9.34h x 6.18w x 1.14d
ISBN: 9781665057509

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 08/01/2022
Foreword 08/27/2022
Publishers Weekly 10/10/2022

Product Tags:

Blackstone Publishing, Fiction, Fiction - Espionage / Thriller, Hardcover, Jennifer Givhan, Magical Realism, Psychological fiction, Suspense, Thrillers, Women

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!