Picaresque - Decemberists - LP

In Stock, Ready to Ship!

The Decemberists know that the psychology of a culture at war is complex; that historical archetypes can inform the masses on current events far better than the evening news; and, perhaps most importantly, that life is ultimately a spectacular and colorful pageant. They remind US that, on any given day, we might rub shoulders with rogue spies and runaway prostitutes, child monarchs and vengeful mariners, boy ghosts, couples contemplating suicide, cannibals and drowning angels. This existence is indeed a spectacle to be revered. In August of 2004, Rachel Blumberg, Jenny Conlee, Chris Funk, Colin Meloy, and Nate Query set up shop at a former Baptist church in Portland, Oregon. With co-producer Chris Walla at the controls, the five musicians collectively known as the Decemberists emerged three weeks later with the bulk of the work completed for Picaresque (Kill Rock Stars - March 22, 2005), their most ambitious and realized effort to date.

  • Disc 1, Track: 1 - Infanta
  • Disc 1, Track: 2 - We Both Go Down Together
  • Disc 1, Track: 3 - Eli, the Barrow Boy
  • Disc 1, Track: 4 - Sporting Life
  • Disc 1, Track: 5 - Bagman's Gambit
  • Disc 1, Track: 6 - From My Own True Love (Lost at Sea)
  • Disc 1, Track: 7 - 16 Military Wives
  • Disc 1, Track: 8 - Engine Driver
  • Disc 1, Track: 9 - On the Bus Mall
  • Disc 1, Track: 10 - Mariner's Revenge Song
  • Disc 1, Track: 11 - Of Angels and Angles