Murder on the Home Front by Ellicott, Jessica
Ellicott, Jessica
Books

Murder on the Home Front -- Jessica Ellicott - Hardcover


Disrespect, disdain - and dead bodies! It's all in a day's work for WPC Billie Harkness, a pioneering female police officer protecting the home front in this gripping WWII British historical mystery.

"A fresh and different take on WWII stories with an appealing young heroine" New York Times bestselling author Rhys Bowen on Death in a Blackout

1940. It's been a month since rector's daughter Billie Harkness left her rural village to make a fresh start in the northern city of Hull. Now she has a new home and an exciting new job as one of only two female police constables in the whole city. But Hull still feels like a foreign country, and some people are less than impressed by the idea of a woman doing a 'man's job'.

Facing disrespect from her colleagues and suspicion from the public, Billie throws herself into her work. The tasks she's assigned might be menial, but she's determined to do her bit for the war effort. The chance to prove her worth comes during a search for a missing air raid shelter inspector, when Billie makes a shocking discovery: his dead body, in a shelter that's been stripped of all its valuables.

The officers summoned to investigate the scene believe it's an open and shut case, but Billie's not so sure. Asking questions means making enemies though - and little does she know that vile rumors about her are spreading, with the power to erase everything she's tried so hard to achieve . . .

Murder on the Home Front is the second stunning mystery in the new WPC Billie Harkness series. It's a great choice for readers of Jacqueline Winspear, Rhys Bowen and Susan Elia MacNeal.

Author: Jessica Ellicott
Publisher: Severn House
Published: 05/02/2023
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.60h x 5.60w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9781448306534

Review Citation(s):
Booklist 03/01/2023 pg. 30
Publishers Weekly 03/20/2023
Kirkus Reviews 05/01/2023

About the Author
Agatha award nominee Jessica Ellicott loves fountain pens, Mini Coopers and throwing parties. A member of Wicked Authors, Sisters in Crime and International Thriller Writers, she lives in northern New England with her dark and mysterious husband, exuberant children and a precocious poodle named Sam.

Book & Mortar

Chainsaw Man

It's So Great Having An Addiction
Shop Now

PINK FLOYD

Buy 4, get 1 Free
Shop now