Tanvi Berwah

Monsters Born and Made -- Tanvi Berwah, Hardcover

$18.99 $13.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format: Hardcover
3 in stock

LIMITED PRINT RUN: EXCLUSIVE FIRST EDITION. The first printing includes an exclusive designed case! Available only while stock lasts.

*A Book Riot Must-Read South Asian Book of 2022*

*A BuzzFeed Highly Anticipated YA Book of Summer 2022*

She grew up battling the monsters that live in the black seas, but it couldn't prepare her to face the cunning cruelty of the ruling elite.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and These Violent Delights, this South Asian-inspired fantasy is a gripping debut about the power of the elite, the price of glory, and one girl's chance to change it all.

Sixteen-year-old Koral and her older brother Emrik risk their lives each day to capture the monstrous maristags that live in the black seas around their island. They have to, or else their family will starve.

In an oceanic world swarming with vicious beasts, the Landers--the ruling elite, have indentured Koral's family to provide the maristags for the Glory Race, a deadly chariot tournament reserved for the upper class. The winning contender receives gold and glory. The others--if they're lucky--survive.

When the last maristag of the year escapes and Koral has no new maristag to sell, her family's financial situation takes a turn for the worse and they can't afford medicine for her chronically ill little sister. Koral's only choice is to do what no one in the world has ever dared: cheat her way into the Glory Race.

But every step of the way is unpredictable as Koral races against competitors--including her ex-boyfriend--who have trained for this their whole lives and who have no intention of letting a low-caste girl steal their glory. As a rebellion rises and rogues attack Koral to try and force her to drop out, she must choose--her life or her sister's--before the whole island burns.

Perfect for fans of:

  • Dystopian Fantasy
  • Sea Monsters
  • Exes-to-Rivals-to-?
  • Golden Boy x Pariah
  • Deadly Competition
  • Rebellion
  • Angsty Teenagers
  • Fans of Chloe Gong
  • Female Friendship

Praise for Monsters Born and Made

An exhilarating race of willpower and defiance, set on an utterly unique world filled with glorious monsters. --Xiran Jay Zhao, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow

Monsters Born and Made takes well-beloved YA tropes and turns them on their heads, creating an action-packed rallying cry against oppression and a riveting tale of one girl's desperation to survive no matter the odds. --Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin



Author: Tanvi Berwah
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Published: 09/06/2022
Pages: 352
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.27lbs
Size: 9.31h x 6.30w x 1.18d
ISBN: 9781728247625
Age Range: 13-17

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 06/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 08/01/2022
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2022
Booklist 08/01/2022 pg. 64
School Library Journal 09/01/2022 pg. 114

Product Tags:

Action & Adventure, Animals, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Grades 6-8, Hardcover, Mythical Creatures, Sourcebooks Fire, Tanvi Berwah, Young Adult, Young Adult Fiction

Find your next favorite

Welcome to Book & Mortar

Explore our extensive collection of contemporary and classic books. From the latest bestsellers to hidden gems, we have something for every book lover. Dive into the world of literature with our curated selection, and let your reading adventure begin.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!