Life & Death In Paradise + Milan Live Acoustic

Life & Death In Paradise + Milan Live Acoustic - Cooper,Mike - LP

In Stock, Ready to Ship!

Mike Cooper wrote his final songwriter record, a suite of gloaming glam-rock anthems performed with a spiritual jazz trio, while living on the Costa Tropical of Granada, Spain, an era when he was considering retiring from music altogether. A chance encounter and a last-ditch record deal convinced him to make one last album, which he recorded in 1974 at Pathway Studios in London, with "The Greatest Rock and Roll Band in the World," featuring the inventive South African jazz rhythm section of Louis Moholo and Harry Miller with UK saxophonist Mike Osborne. This first-ever reissue includes a bonus CD of Milan Live Acoustic 2018, a previously unreleased solo set that represents Cooper's return, after forty-four years pursuing free improvisation and electronics, to a new, deconstructed approach to singing, steel guitar, and songcraft. The deluxe LP+CD edition also features a six-panel insert with additional artwork and an essay by the artist about both records. The deluxe 2xCD gatefold edition features an eight-panel version of the same insert. "Beautiful, f***ed-up mid-70s rock that's really not like anything else. A mélange of mersh/avant/blues/folk/rock/jazz shiteroo, Life and Death in Paradise is a most splendid anomaly with hints of everyone from Gram Parsons to Michael Hurley to the Welfare State... Allow it into your head, and it will blossom like the strange mushroom it is." - Byron Coley

  • Disc 1, Track: 1 - Lp1:Rocket Summer
  • Disc 1, Track: 2 - Black Night Crash (Including "Horry Rocker Show")
  • Disc 1, Track: 3 - O.M.M. Coda
  • Disc 1, Track: 4 - Suicide de Luxe (Including "Rock and Roll Hi Way")
  • Disc 1, Track: 5 - Life and Death in Paradise (Including "Through a Veil," "Beads on a String," and "Reprise")
  • Disc 1, Track: 6 - Critical Incidents LP2: Migrants Song (Live)
  • Disc 1, Track: 7 - Approaching Zero (Live)
  • Disc 1, Track: 8 - Industrial Hazard (Live)
  • Disc 1, Track: 9 - In Moments of Reverie (Live)
  • Disc 1, Track: 10 - Peach Trees (Live)
  • Disc 1, Track: 11 - Sage and Thyme (Live)
  • Disc 1, Track: 12 - Lord Franklin (Live)