Nina Simone

High Priestess Of Soul, Nina Simone, LP

$27.98 $26.99 Sale
Shipping calculated at checkout.
11 in stock, ready to ship

Product Tags:

AutoRip, CDs & Vinyl › Styles › Jazz, Jazz, Nina Simone, Pop, Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame Inductee, Verve, Vinyl Store

Vinyl LP pressing. High Priestess of Soul is the last album Simone released under Philips Records. The songs are accompanied by a large band directed by Hal Mooney. The album contains popular songs, such as "Don't You Pay Them No Mind" and African American gospel and folk related songs written by Simone herself, such as "Take Me to the Water" and "Come Ye." After this album title, Nina Simone was sometimes referred to as "the high priestess of soul." Nina Simone was an American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist who worked in a broad range of musical styles including classical, jazz, blues, folk, R&B, gospel, and pop. Simone's musical style fused gospel and pop with classical music, in particular Johann Sebastian Bach, and accompanied expressive, jazz-like singing in her contralto voice.

  • Disc 1, Track: 1 - Don't You Pay Them No Mind 3:03
  • Disc 1, Track: 2 - I'm Gonna Leave You 2:17
  • Disc 1, Track: 3 - Brown Eyed Handsome Man 2:03
  • Disc 1, Track: 4 - Keeper of the Flame 3:21
  • Disc 1, Track: 5 - The Gal from Joe's 1:54
  • Disc 1, Track: 6 - Take Me to the Water 2:49
  • Disc 1, Track: 7 - I'm Going Back Home 2:49
  • Disc 1, Track: 8 - Side I Hold No Grudge 2:20
  • Disc 1, Track: 9 - Come Ye 3:37
  • Disc 1, Track: 10 - He Ain't Comin' Home No More 3:11
  • Disc 1, Track: 11 - Work Song 3:06
  • Disc 1, Track: 12 - I Love My Baby 4:06

Everything else not Book related

Welcome to the Book & Mortar Multimedia Page :)

Find the makings of your own media room. The cave. The hideout. The escape.

Contact form

Fill this out if you need to get in touch with me!