Chasing Pacquiao by Pulido, Rod
Chasing Pacquiao -- Rod Pulido - Hardcover
Pulido, Rod
Books

Chasing Pacquiao -- Rod Pulido - Hardcover


"Rod Pulido delivers the ultimate one-two punch: bare-knuckled, bruising honesty wrapped in humor, sincerity, and sweetness." -- Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Experience the extreme joys, sorrows, and triumphs of a queer Filipino-American teenager struggling to prove himself in an unforgiving world. A poignant coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Patron Saints of Nothing and Juliet Takes a Breath.

Self preservation. That's Bobby's motto for surviving his notoriously violent high school unscathed. Being out and queer would put an unavoidable target on his back, especially in a Filipino community that frowns on homosexuality. It's best to keep his head down, get good grades, and stay out of trouble.

But when Bobby is unwillingly outed in a terrible way, he no longer has the luxury of being invisible. A vicious encounter has him scrambling for a new way to survive--by fighting back. Bobby is inspired by champion Filipino boxer Manny Pacquiao to take up boxing and challenge his tormentor. But when Pacquiao publicly declares his stance against queer people, Bobby's faith⁠--in his hero and in himself⁠--is shaken to the core.

A powerful and unflinching debut that will both shatter and uplift hearts with every read.

Author: Rod Pulido
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Published: 05/02/2023
Pages: 272
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.80lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.70w x 1.40d
ISBN: 9780593526736
Age Range: 12-UP

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/01/2023
Publishers Weekly 03/27/2023
Booklist 04/15/2023 pg. 53
Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2023 pg. 147

About the Author
Rod Pulido grew up in Cerritos, California. As a child, he loved making toy spaceships out of cardboard and devouring ice cream straight from the carton--he still does both. He earned his Bachelor of Arts in film production from California State University, Long Beach, where he founded the first Pilipino Graduation Ceremony in Southern California. His movie The Flip Side became the first feature by a Filipino director to world premiere at the Sundance Film Festival. Rod strives to uplift and entertain with stories that highlight the Fil-Am experience. He enjoys collecting comic books and working out at the gym--stereotypes be damned! Chasing Pacquiao is his debut YA novel. Follow him on Instagram and Twitter @RodAPulido.com

Book & Mortar

Chainsaw Man

It's So Great Having An Addiction
Shop Now

PINK FLOYD

Buy 4, get 1 Free
Shop now