Blood Meridian: Or the Evening Redness in the West by McCarthy, Cormac
Blood Meridian: Or the Evening Redness in the West (Modern Library (Hardcover)) [Hardcover] Cormac McCarthy and Harold Bloom - Hardcover
Cormac McCarthy

Blood Meridian: Or the Evening Redness in the West (Modern Library (Hardcover)) [Hardcover] Cormac McCarthy and Harold Bloom - Hardcover

In Stock, Ready to Ship!
The "masterpiece" (Michael Herr) of the New York Times bestselling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Road, No Country for Old Men, and the upcoming The Passenger and Stella Maris

"Cormac McCarthy is the worthy disciple both of Melville and Faulkner. I venture that no other living American novelist, not even Pynchon, has given us a book as strong and memorable."--Harold Bloom, from his Introduction

"McCarthy is a writer to be read, to be admired, and quite honestly--envied."--Ralph Ellison

Widely considered one of the finest novels by a living writer, Blood Meridian is an epic tale of the violence and corruption that attended America's westward expansion, brilliantly subverting the conventions of the Western novel and the mythology of the "Wild West." Its wounded hero, the Kid, a fourteen-year-old Tennessean, must confront the extraordinary brutality of the Glanton gang, a murderous cadre on an official mission to scalp Indians. Seeming to preside over this nightmarish world is the diabolical Judge Holden, one of the most unforgettable characters in American fiction.

Based on historical events that took place on the Texas-Mexico border in the 1850s, Blood Meridian represents a genius vision of the historical West, one whose stature has only grown in the years since its publication.

Author: Cormac McCarthy
Publisher: Modern Library
Published: 01/02/2001
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.12lbs
Size: 8.51h x 5.77w x 1.01d
ISBN: 9780679641049

About the Author
Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today. McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968), Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992, and The Crossing.