Amphigorey: Fifteen Books by Gorey, Edward
Edward Gorey

Amphigorey: Fifteen Books -- Edward Gorey

Regular price $24.00 Sale price $17.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 28 items in stock!
An illustrated collection of 15 macabre short stories.

In this gorgeously detailed volume, American artist and author Edward Gorey accents amphigory (nonsense verse or composition) with his signature cross-hatched pen-and-ink drawings. A mix of poetry and prose, light-hearted and decidedly more morbid storytelling, the book is sure to satisfy both fans of art and lovers of short stories alike.

Stories included:
The Unstrung Harp
The Listing Attic
The Doubtful Guest
The Object Lesson
The Bug Book
The Fatal Lozenge
The Hapless Child
The Curious Sofa
The Willowdale Handcar
The Gashlycrumb Tinies
The Insect God
The West Wing
The Wuggly Ump
The Sinking Spell
The Remembered Visit

Author: Edward Gorey
Publisher: Tarcherperigee
Published: 01/28/1980
Pages: 189
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 1.30lbs
Size: 10.90h x 7.90w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9780399504334
Age Range: 18-UP

About the Author
Edward Gorey, known for his unsettling pen-and-ink drawings with a Victorian flair, wrote and illustrated such books as The Doubtful Guest, The Gashlycrumb Tinies, and The Headless Bust. He was also the illustrator for the bestselling Lewis Barnavelt series by John Bellairs. Gorey was a very successful set and costume designer, earning a Tony Award for his Broadway production of Dracula. His works dating back to the 1950s have been collected in the Amphigorey series of books. He died in 2000.